History of the Chrystie House
The House was originally built in 1821 by British carpenter John Ward, for Albert Chrystie, a British born New York City banker, at a location on the Hudson River near where Dia museum stands today.
Mr. Chrystie's father in law William Few Jr. (1748–1828), a Founding Father of the United States, spent his retirement years with his daughter and son-in law’s family in the House. Mr. Few was a US Constitution cosigner, Federal Circuit Judge, and Senator representing the state of Georgia. He moved to New York City in 1799 and served in the legislature for four years. Subsequently he served as U. S. Commissioner of Loans, President of City Bank and director of Manhattan Bank.
In 1927 Dr. C.J. Slocum, the then owner of the House, moved it up-hill to the present location, forming part of Henry Winthrop Sargent's Wodenethe Estate. The House was further enhanced historically and aesthetically by the landscape design elements developed in the Picturesque manner with assistance from Sargent's friend and neighbor Andrew Jackson Downing. The two are recognized as the "Fathers of the American landscape architecture".
The Chrystie House is a beautiful example of early nineteenth century Federal-style domestic architecture, for its excellent proportions, structure and graceful details. Along the years, the house had undergone some updates. Read More...